Pioneer in Surgical Endoscopy Award

  • The award is designated for a person in industry, or a physician/surgeon. The award will be given to an individual, not to a company.
  • The award will be granted for a significant, long-term scientific or technological contribution to the field of surgical endoscopy.  One person may not receive the award twice, as it is for a body of work as opposed to an individual achievement.
  • The award will not be given every year, but bestowed when the Board determines a worthy nominee. It is intended for those whose efforts have substantively changed and improved the field of endoscopy.
  • Past Winners:
    • 1995: Karl Storz; 1997: Bob Quint; 1999: Robert Anderson; 2001: William Chang and Richard Newman; 2002: Kurt Semm, MD; 2003: Basil Hirshowitz; 2004: George Berci, MD; 2005: Jeffrey Ponsky, MD; 2006: Gregory Stiegmann, MD; 2007: John Abele; 2008: Gerald Marks, MD; 2009: Robert Croce
    • 2011:  Haruhiro Inoue, MD
    • 2012:  Leon Hirsch and Turi Josefsen
    • 2013:  Joel Leroy, MD
    • 2014:  David Utley, MD
    • 2015:  Steven Rothenberg, MD
    • 2016:  Dr. h.c. mult. Sybill Storz
    • 2017:  Michel Gagner, MD

Application Form

The Award is designated for a person in industry or a physician/surgeon.

You must be a SAGES member and logged in to fill out this application