The George Berci Lifetime Achievement Award In Endoscopic Surgery

  • This is the highest honor SAGES bestows.
  • It is bestowed for a lifetime contribution as an innovator in the field of endoscopic surgery, which may be scientific, technological or educational.
  • It is designated to be granted to an endoscopic surgeon who may or may not be a member of SAGES.
  • The award will not necessarily be given every year, but bestowed when the Board determines a worthy nominee.
  • Nominations may come from any member of SAGES. Nominator is encouraged to solicit additional supporting letters for their nominee.
  • Past winners include:
    • 2001: Sir Alfred Cuschieri, MD; 2004: Gerald Marks, MD; 2005: Kenneth Forde, MD; 2006: George Berci, MD; 2009: Jeffrey Ponsky, MD; 2010: Jacques Marescaux, MD; 2011: Jacques Perissat, MD
    • 2014: Tehemton Udwadia, MD
    • 2015: Lee Swanstrom, MD
    • 2016: Alberto Montori, MD


Nominations may come from any member of SAGES.

Fill out the form below or contact Ms. Viera Ewell in the SAGES office (Phone: 310-437-0544 x104, Fax: 310-437-0585).

You must be a SAGES member and logged in to fill out this application